About Me

My photo

Reading is difficult. As a writer, I help the reader every way I can think of. As a reader, I work hard not to miss the big things in the middle of the road.

Thursday, December 17, 2015

The Candidates for Texas's Court of Criminal Appeals

Texas's highest criminal court has three openings this election season.
Place Two is presently held by Larry Meyers, who pioneered Republicans' being on the court switched parties last cycle to become the only Democrat holding statewide office in Texas. He runs for reelection as a Democrat. The Republicans vying to challenge him are Houston state District Court judge Mary Lou Keel, Collin County District Judge Mr. Chris Oldner, and Collin County District Judge Ray Wheless. Collin County, county seat McKinney, is a suburban county just north of Dallas, except for the tiny part of Dallas which is in the county.
Cheryl Johnson is retiring out of Place Five on the Court. Republicans seeking to replace her are: San Antonio District Judge Sid Harle, Williamson County prosecutor Brent WebsterSteve Smith, a successful advocate in Hopwood v. Texas in which the Fifth Circuit struck down reverse racial discrimination at UT-Austin until the United States Supremes reversed it- he also won a partial term as a Texas Supreme Court justice, also a Tarrant County lawyer named Scott Walker is running. Somebody named Betsy Johnson, apparently from San Antonio, has signed up to run as a Democrat.
Judge Michael E. Keasler runs for reelection in Place Six. Richard Davis, the Richard Dean Davis from last cycle is running against him for the nomination. . A Robert Burns, apparently from Dallas, will run as a Democrat.


  1. An earlier version of this post incorrectly identified the position that democrat Betsy Johnson was running for as place two. It was place five. I regret the error.

  2. fyi: More information about the race for CCA Place 5 at Smith's campaign website www.ProvenConservative4Texas.com

  3. The description of Steve Smith was made more accurate and specific.

  4. A characterization of Scott Walker was added.